

Soil Science Society of America Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Sunday Nov. 10, 2024, 9:00-11:00am (Central), San Antonio, TX Resources: Strategic Plan, Bylaws, Minutes | Membership Dashboard | Board Outreach

President Michael Thompson called the meeting to order. Board members present: President: Michael Thompson, Iowa State President-Elect: Samira Daroub. Univ. of Florida Past President: Carrie Laboski, USDA-ARS Ag Soil & Food Systems Group: Maysoon Mikha, USDA-ARS; Hero Gollany, USDA-ARS; Dorivar Ruiz Diaz, K-State CPSS Rep: Jacob Berkowitz, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Fundamental Soil Science Group: Rebecca Lybrand, UC-Davis; Ganga Hettiarachchi, K-State Grad Student Rep: Megan Bourns, K-State Soil & Ecosystem Processes: Ron Reuter, Oregon State; Thorsten Knappenberger, Auburn Ex-officio without vote: CEO Jim Cudahy; Program Planning Officer & Incoming President-Elect Aaron Daigh, Univ. of Nebraska; ASF Chair Stella Salvo, Bayer CropScience Unable to attend: DEI-at-Large: Xia Zhu-Barker, UW-Madison

Early Career Rep: Dianna Bagnall, Soil Health Institute Ed & Practicing Professionals: Clay Robinson, CRC Consulting Fundamental Soil Science Group: Maxine Levin, USDA-NRCS Editor-in-Chief Craig Rasmussen, Univ. of Arizona Also attending:

Incoming Ag Soil & Food Systems Julie Howe, Texas A&M Univ. Incoming Program Planning Shannon Osborne, USDA-ARS Incoming Editor-in-Chief Markus Flury Susan Chapman, Special Projects Director Susan Dearing-Bond, Development Director Dawn Gibas, Certifications Director Sanford Moore. Finance Director Ian Popkewitz, IT & Operations Director Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer Sara Uttech, Governance Director Matt Wascavage, Publications Director Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

S003 SSSA Board of Directors

- 1. Special Welcome to New Board Members, terms begin 1/1/2025:
 - Incoming President-Elect Aaron Daigh, University of Nebraska
 - Aq Soil & Food Systems Group: Julie Howe, Texas A&M University
 - Fundamental Soil Science Group: Vanessa Bailey, Pacific Northwest National Lab
 - SSSA Editor-in-Chief Markus Flury, Washington State University
 - Program Planning Officer Shannon Osborne, USDA-ARS, Brookings, SD

2. Thank you to Outgoing Board Members, terms end 12/31/2024:

- Past President Carrie Laboski, USDA-ARS, University Park, PA
- Ag Soil & Food Systems Group: Maysoon Mikha, USDA-ARS, Akron, CO
- Fundamental Soil Science Group Maxine Levin, University of Maryland
- Editor-in-Chief Craig Rasmussen, University of Arizona
- Program Planning Officer Aaron Daigh, University of Nebraska

3. ACTION: Consent Agenda items approved:

- Nov. 10, 2024 SSSA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
- Oct. 17, 2024 SSSA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
- Final Ethics Statement, recommended by the ACS Ethics Committee
- 4. CEO Jim Cudahy provided a Headquarters update, including:
 - SSSA Strategic Plan progress •
 - New website redesign launching in December
 - Chief Administrative Officer Luther Smith provided information on the new Member Hub
 - Senior Publications Program Manager Matt Nilsson presented information on digital CSA News and Crops & Soils
 - More timely content, sent monthly email alerts, bundle content based on subjects
 - More visual storytelling and news hub format, still have covers and monthly content.

- Eliminating paywall and log-in, open to public
- Reduce carbon footprint
- csa-news.org and cropsandsoils.org
- Director Matt Wascavage presented the November Publications Update
- Upcoming Webinars: <u>www.soils.org/education/online-courses</u>
 - Dec. 3 Oxisols & Mollisols Important Agricultural Soils in Brazil and USA
 - o Dec. 6 Inclusive Mentoring: Building Stronger Relationships and Fostering Growth
 - o Dec. 12 Policy Update: What the Election Results Mean for Scientists
 - o Dec. 17 Managing Nitrous Oxide Emissions in Drained & Undrained Corn & Soybean
- 5. Board Working Group 1, Developing Content for Webinars and Other Outreach Opportunities in 2025, submitted a final report as an attachment that included:
- Discussed audiences
- Strategic objectives to complement new and existing content
- Working with staff member Jamie Nix on next steps, which includes identify speakers, panelists

S211 Budget & Finance Committee

Committee: Chair Maxine Levin, Dianna Bagnall, Thorsten Knappenberger, Samira Daroub, Craig Rasmussen, Michael Thompson, Jim Cudahy, Sanford Moore

- B&F Chair Maxine Levin and Finance Director Sanford Moore presented the Third Quarter 2024 SSSA Financials
- ACTION: Motion by Maxine Levin, seconded by Clay Robinson, to approve the 2025 SSSA Budget. Unanimous approval.

S711.19 SSSA 2024 Program Planning Task Force

Aaron Daigh provided an overview of the SSSA 2024 Bouyoucos Summer Conference Final Report that will be <u>uploaded as part of SSSA Committees' Annual Reports</u>

S485 Don and Betty Kirkham Gold Medal Committee

Call for 2025 Don & Betty Kirkham Medal Nominations due Nov. 29: Awarded every 8 years at the Kirkham Conference (Aug. 19-22: Fukushima, Japan-pending) commemorates extraordinary soil physics career achievements, differs from annual Don & Betty Kirkham Soil Physics Award. Nominees must be living and retired. Submit to Chair <u>Ole Wendroth</u>.

S592 Science Policy

CAO Luther Smith presented an update on Science Policy, which also included:

- Save the Date: 📰 Feb. 25-26, 2025 Congressional Visits Day in Washington, DC
- Encourage Grad Students to apply online by **Dec. 4** to attend: <u>www.soils.org/awards/view/185</u>

S101 Nominations Committee

Call for Candidates: <u>www.soils.org/elections</u>

Nov. 15: Interest due to Division Chairs | *Nov.* 30: Final candidates due to Sara Uttech Encourage women and other underrepresented groups to run for office

- President-Elect: S101 Nominations Committee finalizes
- All Division Chairs-Elect: 2 candidates from each division (3-year terms)
- Board Reps: 2025-ending term; *current reps eligible for re-election* (3-year terms):
 - $\circ~$ Ag Soil & Food Systems; Fundamental; Education & Practicing Professionals
 - DEI Member-at-Large: <u>Apply online by Nov. 15</u>
 - Early Career (within 7 years of terminal degree as of 2026): <u>Apply online by Nov. 15</u>
 - Grad Student (as of 2026 even if graduating), 2-year term: Apply online by Nov. 15

Consensus to adjourn.