Rev. 08/18

S482 SOIL CHEMISTRY AND MINERALOGY AWARD

A. <u>Status</u>: Special Committee

B. Composition and Tenure:

The award committee is composed of seven persons, including the Chair. The term of service on the committee is for two years. The Chair, usually a second-year committee member, serves a one-year term.

C. Functions:

- 1. To encourage nominations for this award.
- 2. To become familiar with the guidelines and procedures for this award and to be responsible for seeing that all nominations fulfill the required criteria of eligibility for the award.
- 3. To evaluate nominations and to select from among those nominated the most outstanding nominee for the award.

D. <u>Procedures</u>:

- 1. The SSSA Headquarters Office distributes the nominations to the committee members and advises them of the scoring or ranking procedure to be followed. The Chair transmits any special instructions to the members.
- 2. The Chair submits an annual report as requested by the Society.

E. Presidential Responsibilities:

The SSSA President:

- 1. Appoints new members to replace those whose terms expire and appoints the Chair of the committee.
- 2. Cooperates with the committee in its activities, as appropriate or in response to need.
- 3. Notifies the committee of all deadlines on award selection, annual report, etc.
- 4. Receives and takes action directly, or be referring to the SSSA Executive Committee and/or Board of Directors, as appropriate, all suggestions and/or recommendations for action from the committee.

F. Description of Award:

The Soil Chemistry and Mineralogy Award is presented in recognition of mid-career soil scientists who have made outstanding contributions in the areas of soil chemistry and mineralogy. The award consists of a certificate and a monetary award.

G. Award Criteria:

The principal criteria for choosing the recipient are significance and originality of basic and/or applied research in soil chemistry/ mineralogy; excellence in creative reasoning and skill in obtaining pertinent data; quality of teaching

soil chemistry/ mineralogy at undergraduate and/or graduate levels; and total impact of contributions on soil science and other fields, nationally or internationally, as well as on society at large.

H. Format for Nominations:

A format guide, approved by the SSSA Board of Directors or Executive Committee, is issued each year. The Chair and committee members may view it on the SSSA awards webpage at <u>www.soils/org/awards</u>.

I. <u>Eligibility of Nominations</u>:

Nominations for this award are accepted only from individual active members of the Society. Members of the Executive Committee and members of the award committee are not eligible to submit nominations.

J. <u>Eligibility of Nominees</u>:

Membership in the Society is not required for this award. The award is intended for persons in mid-career. For purposes of this award, mid-career is defined as the span between 35 and 55 years of age, with the understanding that mid-career will vary depending upon each nominee's entry into their focused field of study.

K. Team Nominations:

Teams are not eligible to be nominated for this award.

L. Scoring or Ranking Procedure:

Nominations are ranked by all committee members. One-half of the total number of award nominees (x) are ranked 1 thru x with the rest of the nominees given x + 1. Each member's ranking is conveyed in writing to the Chair, who totals the points received by each nominee. The award recipient is the nominee receiving the lowest score. The award need not be presented in a given year if it is judged that nominees do not meet the criteria.

M. Revising Guidelines or Procedures:

The award committee may recommend changes or revisions relative to criteria, description, selection process of recipients, etc., for this award. All recommendations must be approved by the SSSA Board of Directors or the Executive Committee before said recommendations may be implemented.

- N. Ties and a Deadlocked Committee:
 - 1. The Award Committee is expected to make every effort to break tie votes.
 - 2. If the Award Committee cannot break the tie vote, the Award Committee Chair shall vote to break the tie.

SPECIAL NOTE: This award is supported through funds from the Marion L. & Chrystie M. Jackson estate.